Africa | Scholarship for Nigerians and Africans - Part 2

Postgraduate Research Scholarships, South Africa

The objective of the PRF Postgraduate Research Scholarships is to provide deserving students with the opportunity to obtain a Masters degree, that will enable them to make a contribution to high quality scientific research in the supply or utilisation of protein in animal nutrition, or both. The subject of study for the Masters degree must fall within the broad framework of the mission, vision and goals of the PRF. Doctoral scholarships will also be considered if the subject of study is deemed to be of a high priority to the PRF.The scholarship is open to citizens of the Republic of South Africa who have qualified for admission to a Masters or Ph D degree at a recognised tertiary institution.

The successful candidate must conduct an approved research project under the leadership of a recognised supervisor at the university concerned. The project may be used towards the fulfilment of the requirements for the postgraduate qualification. A formal contract must be signed by both parties.Candidates should submit PRF scholarship applications to their university administration, and the names of those who have applied for the first time should be listed in priority sequence by the University. Applications from those candidates selected by the university are then submitted to the PRF. Selected candidates may be requested to attend a personal interview, costs of which are carried by the PRF.

Scholarship Application Deadline:30 September,2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application

Change Fellowship Awards 2012 for Early Career Psychologists, Africa

The Change Fellowship Awards enable early career researchers to design and implement their own research programmes that address the challenges and opportunities confronting children and youth developing in situations of social change and the particular cultural and economic situation in their country. Change Fellowships are intended to provide applicants with an opportunity to demonstrate their research capabilities in a manner that will advance their careers and attract future opportunities for support.

Change Fellows will be required to present their initial research results at ICP 2012 and
programme time will be allocated for these presentations.

These awards are made possible by a major grant from the Jacobs Foundation, with additional support from the National Research Foundation in South Africa and IUPsyS. Seven awards of €25 000 each are available. This amount may be used for research related expenses, including research equipment, data collection, and travel to, registration for and accommodation during ICP 2012. A proposed budget should be included as an annex to the research proposal.

The award is open to early career psychologists who have completed the PhD (or full equivalent) in the 10 years preceding ICP 2012. Considerations may also be given where a longer period has elapsed due to official leave and/or extenuating circumstances beyond the
control of the applicant.

Applicants must be permanent residents of a Sub-Saharan African country. They must either be located in a recognized university or reputed research institution,or be accepted as a guest researcher at such an institution.

Scholarship Application Deadline: 17May 2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application

Canon Collins Scholarships for Study in South Africa 2012

Canon Collins Trust invites applications for scholarships for postgraduate study in South Africa in 2012. The trust will provide funding for up to a maximum of one year for Honours, two years for Masters and three years for PhD. Continued funding depends on satisfactory progress and academic reports.
Canon Collins scholarships are not full scholarships and funding depends on the type of course you are doing.  Awards in 2011 ranged from R10,000 to R40,000. Awards in 2012 are likely to be within this range.
Applicants must be nationals of or have refugee status in one of the following countries :Angola , Botswana ,Lesotho , Malawi ,Mozambique , Namibia , South Africa ,Swaziland , Zambia, Zimbabwe. The applicant must be seeking this scholarship for postgraduate study at a South African university.

Scholarship Application Deadline: 12 August 2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application