graduate school | Scholarship for Nigerians and Africans

2011 Roy W. Likins Scholarship to deserving Florida Students, USA

Roy Likins was a life-long member of AWWA. He served as president of Palm Coast Utility Corporation for six years and served the utility in various capacities for 16 years. He was a leader in the water industry, serving as chair of the FW&PCOA Region 9 and on various state committees with the primary focus on education and training. In 1972, he hosted the Florida Water Resources Conference and later served as secretary / treasurer and chair of the Florida Section. In 1982, he received the prestigious AWWA George Warren Fuller award. Roy was also a strong and active member of his community, serving in the Jaycees, Flagler County Shrine Club, as a member and chair of the School Board, and as treasurer and Chair of the United Way.
After his untimely death in 1991 at the age of 53, the Florida Section honored his service and his memory by naming its scholarship program the Roy W. Likins Scholarship.
Each year, the Likins Scholarship Committee awards a minimum of $2,000 to a maximum of $10,000 in scholarships. The scholarships are distributed in $1,000 or $2,000 increments to deserving Florida students, either in undergraduate or graduate school.

Scholarship Application Deadline:15 May,2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application

Loughborough University Graduate School International Scholarships 2011, UK

Over 100 scholarships will be available in 2011/2012 to new self-financing full-time international students who are permanently resident in a country outside the European Union (EU).These scholarships will be to the value of 25% of the programme tuition fee and that value will be credited to the student’s tuition fee account.

The Loughborough University Scholarships will be awarded on the basis of outstanding academic achievement and potential. Each scholarship will be of 1 year’s duration.Applicants with exceptional qualifications may be offered a scholarship with their offer of a place.Applicants to the following Departments will automatically be considered for a scholarship – provided the initial application is complete and contains all the relevant information (degree transcripts, references etc.). For these Departments there is no separate scholarship application process.All those applying using the scholarship application form will be notified of the outcome of their application by email by the end June at the latest.
Any award made to an applicant holding a conditional offer will be subject to those conditions being met in full.

Scholarship Application Deadline: 30th June 2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application

2011-2012 Michael Vergauwen Fund Scholarship, USA

The International Communications Industries Foundation (ICIF) is a non-profit charitable and educational
organization chartered to support the audiovisual communications industry, bringing manufacturers and dealers together to improve the industry through education and research.
The scholarships are awarded on a competitive basis to dependents of employees or employees of InfoComm member organizations. To be considered for this scholarship, applicants must:
• Be a spouse, child, stepchild or grandchild of an employee of an InfoComm member organization or an employee of an InfoComm member organization in good standing at the time of application.
• Awarded one-time only to 3rd or 4th year students of 4-year degree, 2nd year students of 2-year degree programs or graduate school candidates.
• Have a minimum grade point average of 2.75 on a 4.0 scale (or equivalent) verified by a transcript from college attended.
o The application requires the most current and available college transcripts.
o Transcripts must be official transcripts and should be sent directly from each school attended to ICIF.
o Where GPA is not based on a four point scale please provide an explanation or equivalent

Scholarship Application Deadline:Friday, April 29, 2011.

Further Scholarship Information and Application