third world countries | Scholarship for Nigerians and Africans

The Aga Khan Foundation Scholarship Programme 2011-2012, Kenya

The Aga Khan Foundation provides a limited number of scholarships each year for postgraduate studies to outstanding students from developing countries who have no other means of financing their studies. Scholarships are awarded on a 50% grant : 50% loan basis through a competitive application process once a year in June or July. The Foundation gives priority to requests for Master’s level courses but is also willing to consider applications for PhD programmes, when doctoral degrees are necessary for the career objectives of the student. Requests will also be considered for travel and study awards for PhD students doing their research in Third World countries on topics judged to be of interest to the Aga Khan Development Network. Applications for short-term courses are not considered; neither are applications from students who have already started their course of study.

Geographic Scope
The Foundation accepts applications from countries where it has branches, affiliates or other AKDN agencies which can help with processing applications and interviewing applicants. At present, these are Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Tajikistan, Syria, Egypt, Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Mozambique, Madagascar, France, Portugal, UK, USA and Canada.

Selection Criteria
The main criteria for selecting award winners are: l) excellent academic records, 2) genuine financial need, 3) admission to a reputable institution of higher learning and 4) thoughtful and coherent educational and career plans. Candidates are also evaluated on their extra-curricular interests and achievements, potential to achieve their goals and likelihood to succeed in a foreign academic environment. Applicants are expected to have some years of work experience in their field of interest.

Loan Conditions
Half of the scholarship amount is considered as a loan, which must be reimbursed with an annual service charge of 5%. A guarantor is required to co-sign the loan agreement. The payback period is five years, starting six months after the study period funded by the Aga Khan Foundation.

Application Procedures
The application procedures of AKF’s International Scholarship Programme are decentralised. Students may obtain application forms as of January 1st each year from AKF offices or Aga Khan Education Services / Boards in their countries of current residence. Completed applications should be returned to the agency from which the form was obtained, or to the address indicated on the front of the form. They should not be sent to Geneva.
Scholarship Application Deadline: March 31st, 2011
Further Scholarship Information and Application

Wells Mountain Foundation, INC. Scholarships for Third World Countries, 2011-2012, UK

The Wells Mountain Foundation is a public charitable foundation based in Bristol, Vermont which has been approved under the United States Internal Revenue Service under Section 501(c)(3). The purpose of the Foundation is primarily to support programs and individuals in third world countries, or other situations of extreme poverty and need.Each year the Foundation provides support to a number of students as they pursue various educational objectives. Typically support is provided for post-secondary school (college, university, polytechnic, trade school). Financial support is primarily to cover the costs of the education itself, and directly related expenses including books, and supplies at the educational institution. In some limited cases the support can be extended to cover other personal expenses
while pursuing the educational objective including food and lodging, travel to and from the educational institution, and other personal needs.
Scholarships will generally be granted for the full period of study, however, recipients must provide copies of all progress reports and grades as they are received and the scholarship can be discontinued at any time in the event of unsatisfactory performance.

Scholarship Application Deadline: July 1, 2011
Further Scholarship Information and Application

The Master of Lifelong Learning Scholarships for Non-EU Third World Countries Students

The Master of Lifelong Learning Scholarships for Third World Countries.

Lifelong Learning has become a fundamental goal of recent education policies, often advocated as a way to achieve socioeconomic development and as a tool for promoting the ‘knowledge-based’ society.

The rationale of the Masters of Lifelong Learning is to increase the awareness of European Lifelong Learning policies in a regional European context as well as on a global scale. It aims to provide policy-makers and professionals with responsibility for managing, delivering or supporting Lifelong Learning with opportunities to develop their own analysis and practice in what is a constantly changing economic, social, technological and policy environment.

The growing significance of Lifelong Learning both in national and international policy results in the need to bring its implications under close and critical scrutiny. The Master of Lifelong Learning is to be considered a response to a strong need for conducting educational reform activities all over the world.

Learning outcomes:

The Master of Lifelong Learning seeks to form professionals able toDesign and develop educational policies concerned with Lifelong Learning Promote innovation processes within Lifelong Learning systems suited to the social and organisational contexts in which they are to be undertaken, so as to facilitate change and social transformation.

Develop competences required in order to mediate between the educational community and the needs of the local environment Advise organisations on the planning, implementing, evaluating, supervising and control of training mechanisms in Lifelong Learning Apply techniques for recognizing diverse learning needs and for identifying the appropriate and sustained educational actions which will meet these needs.

Take part in the new developments and reforms taking place in Europe in accordance with the Bologna and Copenhagen process.Design and develop flexible learning paths, using ECTS and including recognition of prior learning. Integrate ICT and e-learning as a tool in educational programmes Develop systemic competences related to management, quality, creativity and leadership.

Entry requirements:

The entry requirements for students enrolling on the Master of Lifelong Learning are:

A good first degree (humanities or social sciences) from a recognised institution of higher education.

A satisfactory level of spoken and written English: IELTS 7.0 and TOEFL 650 (written paper test).

Application procedure and selection process

For a successful application the following documents must be included:

student application form (incl. photo)

certified copy of 1st degree

IELTS/TOEFL certificate


letter of recommendation (reference)

qualification essay

Enrolment of students with an Erasmus Mundus scholarship:

All scholarship holders will be informed directly about their enrolment at the Institute of Education/the Danish University of Education.

The European Commission offers scholarships for 3rd country (non-EU) students and scholars. The deadline for scholarship applications is 1 December 2010.

For non-EU students:

For each student the scholarship amounts to 21,000 Euro per academic year. This includes 10 monthly grants of 1,600 Euro and a fixed amount of 5,000 Euro for fees, travel expenses, relocation costs, etc. For courses lasting two years, the student receives double this amount, i.e. 42,000 Euro.

For non-EU scholars:

The amount of an average scholarship for scholars is 13,000 Euro. This includes three monthly grants of 4,000 Euro and a fixed amount of 1,000 Euro for travel and expenses. For application forms, please contact the Consortium Office at
Read more: