poverty alleviation | Scholarship for Nigerians and Africans - Part 2

The Kofi Annan Fellowship for Outstanding Leadership Potentials from Developing Countries

The Kofi Annan Fellowship provides the opportunity for talented and motivated students from developing countries who do not belong to a privileged class and lack sufficient financial means to study management at ESMT in Berlin and graduate with a prestigious MBA from the most international business school in Germany.

Upon return to their home countries, the fellows are expected to contribute to the strengthening of entrepreneurial capacity and the fostering of a stable market economy as an effective catalyst for their country’s development, job creation, and poverty alleviation.

What is the Kofi Annan Fellowship?

A fellowship grant for an emerging leader from a developing country for a one-year full-time MBA education in Berlin, Germany.


To make significant contributions to least developed countries (LDCs) and landlocked developing countries (LLDCs); to strengthen the awareness for responsibility in leadership in developed countries.


ESMT in cooperation with the Kofi Annan Business School Foundation in The Hague, Netherlands.


Value of the fellowship is € 58,000. Fellows will have a full scholarship from ESMT plus fair compensation for costs like travel, accommodation, and program-related fees.


Bachelor degree of any kind, a minimum of three years’ professional experience, GMAT, fluency in written and spoken English, willingness to contribute to building the economy and society of the home country with entrepreneurial impetus.

Scholarship Application Deadline: 30 Septemebr 2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application

Mwalimu Nyerere Programme for University Staff, Masters and PhD Students, Africa: Agriculture sciences, Management and education, Engineering, Medicine, Science and technology

The Mwalimu Nyerere Programme is the Africa component of the new Intra-ACP Academic Mobility Scheme that supports the development of high level human resources in Africa, as well as the Caribbean and Pacific regions. It provides funding on a competitive basis to consortia of higher education institutions (HEIs) to arrange mobility for masters and doctoral students and university staff to other HEIs in the respective regions, and to provide scholarships to selected students and staff. At least 3 HEIs are required to partner in the proposal (maximum of 12 partners).

The objective of the programme is to promote sustainable development and poverty alleviation by increasing the availability of trained and qualified high-level professional manpower in African, Caribbean and Pacific countries. The programme aims to strengthen cooperation between HEIs in the African, Caribbean and Pacific region in view of increasing access to quality education that will encourage and enable African, Caribbean and Pacific students to undertake postgraduate studies, and to promote student retention in the region along with mobility of staff (academic and administrative) while increasing competitiveness and attractiveness of the institutions themselves.

More specifically the programme aims to:
a. provide access to higher education for students including those from disadvantaged groups;
b. facilitate cooperation on recognition of studies and qualifications;
c. contribute to the improvement of the quality of higher education through the promotion of internationalisation, and harmonisation of programmes and curricula within participating institutions;
d. enhance the international cooperation capacity of HEIs in African, Caribbean and Pacific countries;
e. promote cooperation between sending and host institutions;
f. enable students, academics and staff to benefit linguistically, culturally and professionally from the experience gained in the context of mobility to another country;
g. enhance, in the medium-term, the political, cultural, educational and economical links between the participating countries.
Lot 1 is the African component of the scheme – which aims to support and fully expand the Mwalimu Nyerere Scholarship Scheme of the African Union Commission (AUC) in the context of which academic mobility will take place within Africa. South Africa is an eligible country for inclusion in this lot.

Scholarship Application Deadline:6 May 2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application

AWARD Fellowships for African Women in Agricultural Research and Development 2011 in Africa

AWARD is a professional development program that strengthens the research and leadership skills of African women in agricultural science, empowering them to contribute more effectively to poverty alleviation and food security in sub-Saharan Africa. AWARD is a project of the Gender & Diversity Program of the Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research (CGIAR).
The AWARD Fellowship is a two-year program that offers a series of career-development resources that:
•establish a mentorship for each fellow with a senior scientist
•build science skills
•develop leadership capacity
AWARD’s training courses, held over a two-year period, take place in various locations in Africa.

Women agricultural scientists who are nationals of Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, or Zambia, who have completed a bachelor’s, master’s, or doctoral degree in the disciplines listed below, are eligible to apply. Applicants must be available in Africa throughout the fellowship period. There is no age restriction.
Applications received after the deadline and incomplete applications will NOT be accepted. Selected fellows will be notified in mid-July, 2011.

Scholarship Application Deadline: March 25, 2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application