Masters | Scholarship for Nigerians and Africans

NITDEF SCHOLARSHIP SCHEME 2012/2013 at National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA) Federal Ministry of Communication Technology

National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA)


Federal Ministry of Communication Technology

No. 28 Port Harcourt Crescent, Off Gimbiya Street, Area 11, Garki, Abuja




The National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA) with its mandate of transforming Nigeria into an IT driven economy for global competitiveness and the dire need to bridge the digital divide has in 2010 established a Scholarship Scheme for Masters (MSc) and Doctorate (PhD) Degrees in relevant areas of Information Technology (IT) obtainable in Nigerian or Foreign/ Overseas Universities.




The scholarship award is strictly based on merit and covers equally the six geo-political zones for PhD and the 36 States and FCT for



The Masters programme will run for one year while the Doctorate programme is expected to run for three years.



PhD: All citizens of Nigeria with MSc in any Information Technology related field are eligible for sponsorship.

MSc. All citizens of Nigeria with First Class or Second Class (Upper) Honours Bachelor’s Degree, (B.Sc) in Information Technology related field.


All eligible candidates that are interested should log on to: to register. The registration period is from now till 24th October, 2012


A comprehensive Aptitude Test will be conducted to determine successful candidates for the award. Only candidates who are found eligible will be invited.





Masters and Doctoral Award for the Applicants of Developing Countries and Canada at International Development Research

Masters and Doctoral Award for the Applicants of Developing Countries and Canada offered by International Development Research Centre in Canada

Study Subject(s):Climate Change and Water

Course Level:Masters, Doctoral

Scholarship Provider: International Development Research Centre

Scholarship can be taken at:  Canadian or developing-country university


To be eligible for an award, applicants must meet the following criteria, in addition to any other conditions set out in this call for proposals: Applications will ONLY be accepted in English or French.

-must be citizens of a developing country and be enrolled in a master’s or doctoral program at a Canadian or developing country university.

-must be Canadian citizens (or permanent residents of Canada) and be enrolled in a doctoral program at a Canadian university).
-No Canadian Master’s students will be accepted.
-The proposed field work must take place in a developing country and start no later than December 31, 2012.
-The applicant’s research supervisor must provide training and supervision in the field of the proposed research for the entire duration of the award period.
-In principle, applicants must have completed all the required course work for their program of study before receiving the award.
-An exception will be granted where a university requires one or two more courses to be done after the field research.
-All doctoral applicants must have successfully passed comprehensive written and oral examinations for the academic program in which they are enrolled before receiving the award.

Scholarship Open for International Students: Yes

Scholarship Description: Canada’s International Development Research Centre (IDRC) supports research in developing countries to promote growth and development. The result is innovative, lasting local solutions that aim to bring choice and change to those who need it most. IDRC’s Climate Change and Water Program (CCW) helps developing country researchers understand how climate change affects water resources and find ways to improve the ability of citizens and governments to adapt to the changing environment. CCW’s Adaptation H2O Graduate Research Awards aim to build research capacity by providing funding to graduate students working on subjects related to climate change and water.

Apply Here:

Scholarship Application Deadline: 1 September 2011


Canon Collins Scholarships for Study in South Africa 2012

Canon Collins Trust invites applications for scholarships for postgraduate study in South Africa in 2012. The trust will provide funding for up to a maximum of one year for Honours, two years for Masters and three years for PhD. Continued funding depends on satisfactory progress and academic reports.
Canon Collins scholarships are not full scholarships and funding depends on the type of course you are doing.  Awards in 2011 ranged from R10,000 to R40,000. Awards in 2012 are likely to be within this range.
Applicants must be nationals of or have refugee status in one of the following countries :Angola , Botswana ,Lesotho , Malawi ,Mozambique , Namibia , South Africa ,Swaziland , Zambia, Zimbabwe. The applicant must be seeking this scholarship for postgraduate study at a South African university.

Scholarship Application Deadline: 12 August 2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application