african countries | Scholarship for Nigerians and Africans - Part 2

2011 The TWAS-AAS-Microsoft Award for Young Scientists, Africa

Microsoft Research, in partnership with TWAS and the African Academy of Sciences (AAS), has established the TWAS-AAS-Microsoft Award for Young Scientists to recognize young scientists working and living in Africa whose research in computer science has had, or could have, a positive impact in the developing world.
* Each year three winners are selected from three different African countries.
* Each winner receives EUR 7,000, of which EUR 2,000 may be spent at the recipient’s discretion and EUR 5,000 shall be earmarked for further research. Each prize also carries a certificate bearing a citation highlighting the major contributions for which the prize is awarded.
* The prizes are presented to the recipients at a special ceremony held each year in Nairobi, Kenya, organized by TWAS and AAS.

* Nominees can be any nationality, but must have been resident and working in Africa for at least the two years immediately prior to their nomination. Example: For the 31 July 2011 nomination deadline, nominees should have been resident in Africa since at least 1 August 2009.
* Nominees must have received their most recent degree (Master’s or Ph.D.) within the previous ten years.
* Employees of TWAS, AAS and Microsoft Research as well as employees of other industry research laboratories and anyone involved in the administration of this award, are not eligible.

Scholarship Application Deadline:31 July 2011.

Further Scholarship Information and Application

12 Full Master’s Scholarships for African Students at University Cattolica, Italy: International MBA (Global Business and Sustainability) Banking and Finance, International Relations, International Cooperation and Development, Economics

Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, as part of its mission to foster relationships with developing countries, has developed a special program for students from the African continent. This program will enable students to study on a full or partial scholarship for degree programs taught in English at UCSC’s Milan Campus. UCSC is pleased to offer for the second year 12 full scholarships that include tuition and board for eligible students from the following African countries:
Eligibility: Admission requirements for all programs include completion of at least a Bachelor Degree from a recognized university and IELTS 6.0 or equivalent if English is not the official language in your country. For the MBA at least three years of work experience and GMAT/GRE are required (students can apply without a GMAT/GRE score; however this test has to be taken before program commencement).

Scholarship Application Deadline: 30 April 2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application

PhD Scholarship in Soil Science, KNUST, Ghana

The College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science KNUST is located in Kumasi, the second largest city in Ghana and in the rich cultural environment of the Ashanti kingdom. The University recognizes the study of Science and Technology as an essential part of its cultural heritage. The University staff value experiential instruction using modern laboratory and field approaches to develop knowledge and skill. The University respects diversity of people and offers equal opportunities to males and females for challenges and self-development.
With the support of the Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa (AGRA), KNUST has developed and will run a 4 year coursework and research PhD programme in Soil Science. The programme will be hosted in the Department of Crop and Soil Sciences in the Faculty of Agriculture.
The main goal of this new PhD programme at KNUST is to develop and strengthen regional human and institutional capacity to develop innovative and adaptable technologies for halting the rapid soil degradation to improve agricultural productivity in Africa.

Applications must be nationals of the following West African countries— Ghana, Burkina Faso, Mali, Niger and Nigeria.
AGRA will grant scholarships to some selected candidates on competitive basis. Female candidates will be given priority for scholarship awards. This is a scholarship that covers tuition, and attractive packages for accommodation, book allowance, stipend, and research cost from the program. These details will be provided in the final award letters to successful candidates.

Scholarship Application Deadline: 30April 2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application