african countries | Scholarship for Nigerians and Africans

Australian Development Scholarships (ADS) for African Students 2011/2012

The 2012 Intake of the Australia Scholarship Awards for Africa is open for application! The Australia Awards for Africa is an initiative of the Australian Government aimed to maximise the benefit of the Australian Government’s extensive scholarship programs, and to support enduring ties between Australia and neighbouring Countries. Australian Development Scholarships (ADS) are available for full-time Postgraduate Diploma or Master degree studies at Australian universities.  The Australia Awards initiative brings the Australian Government’s scholarship programs together under the one Australia Awards brand. Please refer to the country pages to the left in ADS website for specific country-based scholarship information and submission deadlines for the 2012 Intake. Sectors of focus for ADS are agreed with each participating Partner Government. The country specific information for applicants’ home country will indicate what those priority sectors are. Eligible African Countries : Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroun, Cape Verde, Comoros, Congo(Republic of), Djibouti, Egypt, Ethiopia, The Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia
Eligibility:You are only eligible for an Australian Development Scholarship (ADS) if:
you are a citizen of one of the participating African countries, if you are presently resident in your home country and if you meet any relevant country specific criteria; you are not older than 50 years of age at the date of application; you satisfy Australian Government requirements for international student entry to Australia (such as health and character required by the Department of Immigration and Citizenship); you do not hold another scholarship that would give overlapping benefits;
you satisfy the admission requirements of the Australian institution in which the course is to be undertaken – applicants must have submitted their completed application form via the ADS Africa office and then have received a firm offer of placement in their course of study before the scholarship can be confirmed; you are applying to commence a new course of study and are not seeking support through ADS for a course already commenced in Australia; you are not transferring from another Australian training scholarship to an ADS during the same course of study, and you will be able to take up the scholarship in the calendar year for which the scholarship is offered. Scholarship offers are automatically withdrawn if an applicant has not commenced study prior to the end of the year.

Scholarship Application Deadline: Various

Further Scholarship Information and Application

C V Raman International Fellowship for African Researchers 2011, India: Science and Technology

Department of Science & Technology, Government of India, has initiated C V Raman International Fellowship for African Researchers under new Science & Technology initiative to promote scientific cooperation with Africa. This prestigious fellowship is aimed at further strengthening the bond between Indian & African nations through Science & Technology collaboration. This fellowship is a follow up action of the new Science & Technology initiative for African countries announced at the highest level during the India-Africa Forum Summit of April 2008.

The objective of the C V Raman International Fellowship is to provide opportunities to African researchers to conduct, under the guidance of their host in India, collaborative research with leading research groups in universities and other Indian institutions in various areas of Science & Technology.
Types and number of fellowships offered
Each African country will have 8 slots of fellowship totaling approximately 416 fellowships under this programme.
(a) Post Doctoral Fellowship – Duration 6 months. Maximum 2 fellowships of 6 months duration each or one fellowship thereof subject to total 12 man-months.
(b) Visiting fellowship – Duration 3 months. Maximum 3 fellowships
(c) Senior Fellowship – Duration 1 month. Maximum 3 fellowships

Federation of Indian Chamber of Commerce & Industry (FICCI) is the Coordinating Partner for C V Raman International Fellowship. FICCI, on behalf of Department of Science & Technology, invites applications from African researchers for the award of C V Raman International Fellowship to conduct research in Indian research laboratories/institutes in chosen areas of Science & Technology.

Scholarship Application Deadline: July 31, 2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application

The Margaret McNamara Memorial Fund 2012 for Female Students, South Africa

The MMMF is making grants, to the value of approximately $US 4000 each, available to female students, 25 years and older, from all African countries enrolled for study at the University of Cape Town.
-The applicants must be at least 25 years of age.
-The applicant must be financially needy.
-The applicant must demonstrate that their field of study will aid in the development of women and children in the developing world.
-The applicant must demonstrate a commitment to work for the benefit of women and children.
-The applicant must plan to return to their countries within two years of receiving the grant.

Scholarship Application Deadline:19 August 2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application