development scholarship | Scholarship for Nigerians and Africans

Australian Development Scholarships (ADS) for African Students 2011/2012

The 2012 Intake of the Australia Scholarship Awards for Africa is open for application! The Australia Awards for Africa is an initiative of the Australian Government aimed to maximise the benefit of the Australian Government’s extensive scholarship programs, and to support enduring ties between Australia and neighbouring Countries. Australian Development Scholarships (ADS) are available for full-time Postgraduate Diploma or Master degree studies at Australian universities.  The Australia Awards initiative brings the Australian Government’s scholarship programs together under the one Australia Awards brand. Please refer to the country pages to the left in ADS website for specific country-based scholarship information and submission deadlines for the 2012 Intake. Sectors of focus for ADS are agreed with each participating Partner Government. The country specific information for applicants’ home country will indicate what those priority sectors are. Eligible African Countries : Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroun, Cape Verde, Comoros, Congo(Republic of), Djibouti, Egypt, Ethiopia, The Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia
Eligibility:You are only eligible for an Australian Development Scholarship (ADS) if:
you are a citizen of one of the participating African countries, if you are presently resident in your home country and if you meet any relevant country specific criteria; you are not older than 50 years of age at the date of application; you satisfy Australian Government requirements for international student entry to Australia (such as health and character required by the Department of Immigration and Citizenship); you do not hold another scholarship that would give overlapping benefits;
you satisfy the admission requirements of the Australian institution in which the course is to be undertaken – applicants must have submitted their completed application form via the ADS Africa office and then have received a firm offer of placement in their course of study before the scholarship can be confirmed; you are applying to commence a new course of study and are not seeking support through ADS for a course already commenced in Australia; you are not transferring from another Australian training scholarship to an ADS during the same course of study, and you will be able to take up the scholarship in the calendar year for which the scholarship is offered. Scholarship offers are automatically withdrawn if an applicant has not commenced study prior to the end of the year.

Scholarship Application Deadline: Various

Further Scholarship Information and Application

2011 Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program, Canada

Scholarships are for student and research exchanges at the college, undergraduate and graduate levels.In addition, study tours will be offered to selected graduate students to expose them to Canadian governance, business and civil society in key priority areas.

Publicly funded Canadian institutions must submit applications on behalf of candidate. CBIE does not accept applications submitted directly by candidate or partner institutions (foreign institutions).Canadian faculty members who are submitting applications should notify the international relations department of their respective institutions. By doing so, this will assist with central coordination by the institution in the event that multiple applications need to be prioritized.Eligible themes of study or research are in disciplines that promote good governance, prosperity, peace and security and economic development.

Scholarship Application Deadline:
April 29, 2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application

AFR Postdoctoral Grants by EU under the Marie-Curie Cofund Scheme 2011

Applicants must be holders of a PhD diploma. They can apply until up to 8 years after obtaining their PhD.The postdoc research training has to be carried out in a different country from where the applicant has been principally working in the 24 months preceding the beginning of the intended postdoctoral funding period (mobility clause).Under the AFR scheme, early-stage researchers are eligible for the AFR PhD grant and consecutively for the AFR Postdoc grant (under the condition that they respect a mobility clause).
The project proposals will be assessed according to the following key criteria :

  • Scientific quality of the research project
  • Profile of the applicant
  • Quality of the host institution
  • Interest of the research project in the Luxembourg R&D setting.
  • For postdocs, in addition : The potential of the research project for their career development.

    Scholarship Application Deadline:14 September 2011

    Further Scholarship Information and Application