islamic studies | Scholarship for Nigerians and Africans

Marie Curie Fellowships of the Gerda Henkel Foundation, Germany: History, Prehistory and Early History, Archaeology, Art History, Historic Islamic Studies, Legal History, Historical studies, religious, cultural and political sciences under the special programme Islam, the modern nation state and transnational movements.

Starting in 2011, the Gerda Henkel Foundation is offering Marie Curie Fellowships in the M4HUMAN (Mobility for experienced researchers in historical humanities including Islamic studies) programme aimed at supporting outstanding scholars. This funding initiative is co-financed by the European Commission under the EU’s Seventh Framework Programme for Research. One objective of this fixed-term programme is to increase networking between researchers in the historical humanities at the international level, including researchers in religious, cultural and political sciences under the special programme “Islam, the modern nation state and transnational movements”.

Other goals include the promotion of trans-national academic exchange, increasing transnational mobility, facilitating further education and the positive and long-term influencing of the research environment in both origin and destination countries. Research scholarships can be requested for a larger-scale research work or in connection with a research project.
The programme provides 24-month research grants for two categories of researchers:
– Experienced researchers (PhD or 4 to 10 years of comparable research experience)
– Senior researchers (post-doctoral qualifications or more than 10 years of comparable and proven research experience.

Scholarship Application Deadline:30 June 2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application

2011 King Faisal International Prize (KFIP), Riyadh: Service to Islam, Science, Medicine, Arabic Langauge and literature,Islamic Studies

The King Faisal International Prize (KFIP) has quickly established itself as one of the world’s most prestigious awards. This reputation could not have been accomplished without, firstly, the strict adherence to nomination and selection procedures to ensure that all the winners are selected solely on the basis of merit, and secondly, the continuous support of academic institutions both nationally and internationally Through the Prize, the King Faisal Foundation seeks to show its appreciation to those individuals who have rendered exceptionally outstanding services to Islam and Muslims, and to scholars and scientists who have made significant contributions and advances in areas that benefit developing and Islamic countries, and humanity at large.

Each year, Islamic organizations, universities and other learned circles throughout the world nominate individuals for any of the five categories of the Prize. The winners are usually announced in January, and receive their awards two months later in a special ceremony held in Riyadh under the auspices of the King of Saudi Arabia. This ceremony is one of the most important annual events organized by the King Faisal Foundation.

Scholarship Application Deadline: 27 April 2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application