ophthalmologists | Scholarship for Nigerians and Africans

ICO–Helmerich RRF International Fellowships for Applicants from Developing Countries: Ophthalmology

The ICO – Helmerich RRF International Fellowships, honoring Mr. W. H. Helmerich III and sponsored by the Retina Research Foundation (RRF), provide support for one year of ophthalmology subspecialty training.
Eligibility Criteria
Two ICO – Helmerich RRF International Fellowships are awarded each year to ophthalmologists who are:
• From a developing country and 40 years of age or less at time of application.
• Graduates of a resident – specialist training program.
• Recommended by the ophthalmology head of a teaching institution or public service hospital in a developing country.
• Accepted for ophthalmology subspecialty fellowship, one year in duration, at an advanced ophthalmology training center.
• Reasonably fluent in the language of the fellowship training center.
• Committed to return to a position at a teaching institution or public service hospital in the home country following fellowship.
• Candidates who have passed the ICO Examinations in Basic Science, Optics and Clinical Sciences will receive special consideration. However, passage of the
ICO Examinations is not a requirement for application.

Fellowship Application Deadline: 1 September 2011

Further Fellowship Information and Application