basic science | Scholarship for Nigerians and Africans

Debesh-Kamal Scholarship for Higher Education/Research Abroad: humanities and the basic sciences

Debesh-Kamal Scholarships will be awarded by the Ramakrishna Mission Institute of Culture, Kolkata, to deserving candidates for the purpose of higher education/research abroad. The scholarship will be open to Indian nationals irrespective of caste, creed, or religious faith.


i) Applications for the scholarships, as well as any subsequent correspondence, are to be addressed to the Secretary, Ramakrishna Mission Institute of Culture, Gol Park, Kolkata 700 029, and the envelopes should carry the inscription ‘Debesh-Kamal Scholarship’.

ii) Candidates will have to submit, along with their applications, a Postal Order/ Bank Draft for Rs. 100/- in favour of the Secretary, Ramakrishna Mission Institute of Culture, as the application fee which is not refundable.

Qualification and Age

i) The candidates must have a uniformly good academic record with first class marks at the Honours or Post-graduate level, relaxable by the Selection Committee.
ii) They should not ordinarily be more than 30 years of age. Exceptions may be made for short-term post-graduate or post-doctoral researchers.

Area of Study
The preferred subjects of study/research are the humanities and the basic sciences, but candidates in other disciplines, such as social sciences and applied science and technology, will also be considered.

Scholarship Application Deadline: 25 April, 2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application

AU-TWAS Young Scientists National Awards for Applicants from African Countries: Life and Earth Sciences, Technology

TWAS, the African Union (AU) and national ministries of science and technology are entering into partnership with national science academies, scientific research councils and high-level research organizations in Africa to institute ‘AU-TWAS Young Scientist National Awards’.

The awards are designed to recognize scientific excellence in their countries. In each participating country, two US$5,000-prizes will be awarded each year in the categories of:

* ‘Life and earth sciences’, and
* ‘Basic sciences, technology and innovation’.

For African countries, this programme replaces the TWAS Prizes for Young Scientists in Developing Countries award scheme.


* African organizations intending to award AU-TWAS Young Scientist National Awards in their respective countries are required to sign an agreement of collaboration with TWAS, the AU and their national ministry of science and technology that outlines the rules and regulations governing the scheme.The scheme is then managed by the participating organization while TWAS and the AU provide the prize money.
* Candidates eligible for the prizes should be no older than forty years of age at the time of winning the prize; hold at least a Master’s degree; have a good record of research publications in internationally recognized journals; be living and working in the country of the awarding organization for at least the previous three years.
* Nominations of women scientists are particularly encouraged.

* A committee of eminent scientists in the country — including TWAS members, where applicable — should be formed for selecting the prize winners. Names of committee members should be sent to TWAS for information.
* The awarding organizations should send a complete profile of the selected nominees to TWAS, providing details on their achievements together with curriculum vitae and list of publications. Approval of TWAS and the AU is required before announcing the names of the winners.
* The prize should be presented to the awardees by a high-ranking public figure (e.g., head of state/government, minister of science and technology) at a special ceremony held each year on 9 September: Africa Union Day.

Scholarship Application Deadline: 30 June 2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application

ICO–Helmerich RRF International Fellowships for Applicants from Developing Countries: Ophthalmology

The ICO – Helmerich RRF International Fellowships, honoring Mr. W. H. Helmerich III and sponsored by the Retina Research Foundation (RRF), provide support for one year of ophthalmology subspecialty training.
Eligibility Criteria
Two ICO – Helmerich RRF International Fellowships are awarded each year to ophthalmologists who are:
• From a developing country and 40 years of age or less at time of application.
• Graduates of a resident – specialist training program.
• Recommended by the ophthalmology head of a teaching institution or public service hospital in a developing country.
• Accepted for ophthalmology subspecialty fellowship, one year in duration, at an advanced ophthalmology training center.
• Reasonably fluent in the language of the fellowship training center.
• Committed to return to a position at a teaching institution or public service hospital in the home country following fellowship.
• Candidates who have passed the ICO Examinations in Basic Science, Optics and Clinical Sciences will receive special consideration. However, passage of the
ICO Examinations is not a requirement for application.

Fellowship Application Deadline: 1 September 2011

Further Fellowship Information and Application