AU-TWAS Young Scientists National Awards for Applicants from African Countries: Life and Earth Sciences, Technology | Scholarship for Nigerians and Africans

AU-TWAS Young Scientists National Awards for Applicants from African Countries: Life and Earth Sciences, Technology

TWAS, the African Union (AU) and national ministries of science and technology are entering into partnership with national science academies, scientific research councils and high-level research organizations in Africa to institute ‘AU-TWAS Young Scientist National Awards’.

The awards are designed to recognize scientific excellence in their countries. In each participating country, two US$5,000-prizes will be awarded each year in the categories of:

* ‘Life and earth sciences’, and
* ‘Basic sciences, technology and innovation’.

For African countries, this programme replaces the TWAS Prizes for Young Scientists in Developing Countries award scheme.


* African organizations intending to award AU-TWAS Young Scientist National Awards in their respective countries are required to sign an agreement of collaboration with TWAS, the AU and their national ministry of science and technology that outlines the rules and regulations governing the scheme.The scheme is then managed by the participating organization while TWAS and the AU provide the prize money.
* Candidates eligible for the prizes should be no older than forty years of age at the time of winning the prize; hold at least a Master’s degree; have a good record of research publications in internationally recognized journals; be living and working in the country of the awarding organization for at least the previous three years.
* Nominations of women scientists are particularly encouraged.

* A committee of eminent scientists in the country — including TWAS members, where applicable — should be formed for selecting the prize winners. Names of committee members should be sent to TWAS for information.
* The awarding organizations should send a complete profile of the selected nominees to TWAS, providing details on their achievements together with curriculum vitae and list of publications. Approval of TWAS and the AU is required before announcing the names of the winners.
* The prize should be presented to the awardees by a high-ranking public figure (e.g., head of state/government, minister of science and technology) at a special ceremony held each year on 9 September: Africa Union Day.

Scholarship Application Deadline: 30 June 2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application

Speak Your Mind