medical science | Scholarship for Nigerians and Africans

Applications for 2014/2015 Academic Session Scholarship Award at Media Trust Limited

Media Trust Scholarship Scheme for Female Medical Students

Media Trust Limited (Publishers of Daily Trust, Weekly Trust, Sunday Trust, Aminiya, Kano Chronicle and Kilimanjaro) hereby request applications for its 2014/2015 Academic Session Scholarship Award in Nigerian Universities.


To qualify for the Scholarship Award applicants must, fulfill the following conditions:

  • Nigerian
  • Female
  • Medical Student (MBBS)
  • Must be in 200 level and above and must have passed their examination.
  • Must be a student of

1.       University of Ilorin, Kwara State.

2.       Usmanu Danfodio University, Sokoto State or

3.       University of Maiduguri, Borno State

Method of Application

Interested students who meet the above requirements are to collect Application Forms from the College Secretary’s Office of their respective Colleges/Faculties, fill appropriately and attach passport, photocopies of Admission letter, I. D. Card, Certificate of Origin and Course Registration Form for the current Academic Session.

Completed Application Forms should be sent to:

Administrative Secretary,

20, P. O. W. Mafemi Crescent,

Off Solomon Lar Way, Utako District,



P. O. Box, 6873 Wuse, Abuja

On or before Friday 20th June, 2014


Phone: 08067820969, 08032575961


University of Central Lancashire International PhD Scholarship in School of Pharmacy & Biomedical Sciences, UK

Applications are invited for a full-time scholarship available in the School of Pharmacy & Biomedical Sciences. The scholarship is tenable for up to 3 years for a PhD (via MPhil route) [subject to satisfactory progress] and is open to international applicants only. UK/EU applicants are not eligible to apply. The scholarship will provide £15000 towards the cost of the International tuition fee over 3 years. A wide range of human diseases (e.g. cancer, diabetes, atherosclerosis) are accompanied by enhanced intracellular lipid droplet formation. In recent years, sterol regulatory element binding proteins (SREBPs) have been shown to regulate the expression of key lipid synthesis genes including those encoding fatty acid synthase, acetyl-CoA carboxylase and ?9 desaturase. It is proposed that SREBPs function as allostatic nodes which contribute to cellular lipid quality control processes. Consequently, their activity is closely controlled through a variety of upstream (mTOR/Akt pathways) and downstream (metabolic products e.g. saturated fatty acids, cholesterol) effectors. The project will utilise a number of species of yeast, including Schizosaccharomyces pombe, Saccharomyces cerevisie and Lipomyces starykei, to determine the underlying transcriptional control of acyl lipid metabolism and lipid droplet formation. Using a variety of stimuli, we will investigate which transcription factors are involved in the promotion of acyl lipid metabolism and desaturation. This will involve the use of a number of molecular biology techniques including Northern blot and microarray analysis, to identify important regulatory proteins, and chromatin immunoprecipitation (CHiP), to determine regulatory elements within target genes. Furthermore, the genetic manipulation of yeast is relatively facile providing the opportunity to decipher the functional components of these regulatory pathways and identify future drug targets.

Scholarship Application Deadline: 13 May 2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application

2011-2012 Fully Funded CARTA PhD Fellowships, Africa: Public and population health

The Consortium for Advanced Research Training in Africa (CARTA) is an initiative of nine African universities (listed in Section 2.0), four African research institutes (listed in Section 3.0), and select northern partners (listed in Section 4.0). CARTA aims to develop and deliver an innovative model for doctoral training in sub-Saharan Africa and to strengthen the capacity of participating institutions to conduct and lead internationally-competitive research.
The CARTA program draws together disciplines required to address the complex processes that influence health. These disciplines include Epidemiology, Psychology, Biostatistics, Anthropology, Health Economics, Health Promotion; Demography, Sociology, Health Systems, Health Policy, Development Studies, and their interfaces with the biomedical sciences. The CARTA multidisciplinary approach will prepare its graduates to better address questions of contemporary policy relevance such as the social determinants of health, and the limited impact of technological advances on health in Africa.
Over the medium-term, CARTA aims to produce a critical mass of high-quality graduates trained to address the complex issues surrounding health and development in Africa, retain them in the region, and provide them a vibrant intellectual environment, as well as viable and challenging research and growth opportunities. CARTA aims to achieve reforms in higher education by:
1) Assisting universities to develop enriching and vibrant academic and research environments; and
2) Supporting promising African scholars who teach at affiliated universities to obtain high-quality doctoral training in public and population health-related fields.
CARTA is currently offering a fully-funded, collaborative doctoral training program in public and population health. This program has been developed in response to the great challenges faced by
Africa’s institutions of higher education in addressing the training and retention of the next generation of academics in the region. Women are particularly encouraged to apply. CARTA has also reserved a small number of scholarships specifically for doctoral students conducting research on issues of sexuality and reproductive health and rights.

Participating African Universities
– Makerere University, Uganda
– Moi University, Kenya
– National University of Rwanda
– Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria
– University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
– University of Ibadan, Nigeria
– University of Malawi
– University of Nairobi, Kenya
– University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa

Participating Research Institutes
-African Population & Health Research Center (APHRC), Kenya
-Agincourt Population and Health Unit, South Africa
-Ifakara Health Institute, Tanzania
-KEMRI/Wellcome Trust Research Program, Kenya

Scholarship Applicatiopn Deadline:July 15, 2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application