memorial scholarship | Scholarship for Nigerians and Africans - Part 2

2011 The EMLF Law Student Scholarships, USA: The Energy & Mineral Law

The Annual Scholarship Program, the Energy & Mineral Law Foundation provides educational assistance to encourage the study of energy, environmental, natural resources, and mineral law. Thirty Thousand ($30,000) dollars in scholarships will be awarded for the 2011-2012 academic year to law students studying energy, environmental, natural resource, and mineral law at schools holding membership in the Energy & Mineral Law Foundation. The Energy & Mineral Law Foundation was established in 1980 to provide a forum for the intellectually honest examination of the legal issues related to the development and use of natural resources. The Energy & Mineral Law Foundation is a non-pro?t 501(c)(3) educational organization, funded primarily through membership dues and revenues from educational programs. Scholarships are funded through membership dues, and earnings from special memorial scholarships The Samuel J. Goldstein, Esquire, Scholarship Fund of The Pittsburgh Foundation was created to benefit students who are planning to attend or already attend law school in Pennsylvania. The following criteria will apply:

1. Be from Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Butler, Washington or Westmoreland counties and plan to attend or already attend an accredited law school in Pennsylvania.
2. Demonstrate financial need.
3. Show academic promise.
4. Be of the Jewish faith.
5. Maintain good grades but need not be in the top 10% of their class academically.
6. Submit an essay discussing why you are deserving of this scholarship.
7. Complete a standard admissions application and a financial aid application for the law school the applicant plans to attend or is attending. The students selected to receive this scholarship for the first year at a Pennsylvania law school are eligible to receive this scholarship for a second year if they continue to be enrolled in a Pennsylvania law school and maintain a 2.5 or equivalent grade point average.
If any student selected for this scholarship ceases to attend a Pennsylvania law school or fails to maintain a 2.5 or equivalent grade point average, another scholarship recipient shall be selected for the award. Final selection of the scholarship winners will be decided (subject to the approval of the Board of Directors of The Pittsburgh Foundation) by a Scholarship
Eligibility: Law school students for the current academic year are eligible to receive scholarships

Scholarship Application Deadline: 18 April 2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application

2011 Army Nurse Corps Association Memorial Scholarship Program, USA

The purpose of the Army Nurse Corps Association Scholarship Program is to award scholarships to students attending accredited baccalaureate or graduate nursing or anesthesia programs. The 2011 scholarships will be awarded in memory of the three Army Nurses who lost their lives in the shootings at the Fort Hood Readiness Center on 5 November 2009. All three were reservists who had been activated and were being processed for deployment to Iraq and Afghanistan. LTC Juanita Warman, CPT Russell Seager and CPT John Gaffaney will be remembered for their dedication, bravery and ultimate sacrifice. For 2011, ANCA scholarships will be $3,000 per selected applicant. Selected students will be notified within a few weeks. Scholarship funds are sent to the school to be managed for the student and not sent directly to the student.
The Army Nurse Corps Association does not have an official relationship with the US Army, the Army Nurse Corps or the Reserve Officer Training Corps. Therefore, there is not a military service obligation for the student receiving this scholarship.

Scholarship Application Deadline: 1 April 2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application

2011 E. C. Hallbeck Scholarship Program, USA

The E.C. Hallbeck Memorial Scholarship awards $8000 ($2000 annually) to ten recipients (one male and one female from each of the five postal regions) to apply towards their four-year college tuition.
When the five predecessor unions merged to form the APWU in 1971, the new union decided to maintain an academic scholarship program created in 1969 by the United Federation of Postal Clerks (UFPC) as a tribute to UFPC president E.C. “Roy” Hallbeck. Today the APWU Hallbeck Memorial Scholarship program is a self-perpetuating financial base for providing significant educational assistance to children of APWU union members. It awards $2,000 per year for four consecutive years of college to one male and one female from each of the five postal regions.

Scholarship Application Deadline: 15 March 2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application