university of canterbury | Scholarship for Nigerians and Africans

Marian D’Eve Memorial Scholarship at University of Canterbury, New Zealand: Education ,Communication Disorders/Audiology

These scholarships were established by the family of Dr Russell Smith and Marian D’Eve, following their tragic loss in August 2005. Both Dr Smith and Marian D’Eve were distinguished graduates of the University of Canterbury. A former graduate and staff member in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Dr Smith was involved in the establishment of HumanWare, one of Canterbury’s major electronics companies and with an international reputation for Braille and speech technology, screen-reading software and video-magnification solutions. Dr Smith was a member of the University of Canterbury Council and patron of the UC Foundation. In 2004, Dr Smith was made a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit in recognition of his career dedicated to improving the lives of the visually impaired.
Marian D’Eve was an early childhood education specialist and author of a handbook for teachers. Also a graduate of the University, Ms D’Eve was a staff member at the Christchurch College of Education teaching early childhood education, with a passion for the education of children with special needs.
Eligibility:The Marian D’Eve Memorial Scholarship will be awarded to a student who is studying, researching or developing aids for early childhood special needs education, in any discipline.

Scholarship Application Deadline:31 Aug 2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application

ZESPRI Horticulture Scholarships at University of Canterbury, New Zealand

The ZESPRI Horticulture Scholarship Programme aims to encourage secondary school leavers to pursue a tertiary qualification and career in horticulture. Each year, we offer several, one-year, scholarships, valued at $3,000 each, to high calibre secondary school students from the main kiwifruit growing regions who intend to study full-time in a horticulture-related field at a New Zealand tertiary institute.
Eligibility:The scholarships are open to candidates who are intending to enroll for full-time study towards a degree or diploma in horticulture or a related field at a New Zealand university or polytechnic.
Students who have already begun a course in horticulture at a polytechnic or university are not eligible to apply.
The scholarships will be awarded to secondary school applicants from the kiwifruit growing regions of Northland, Auckland, Coromandel, Waikato, Bay of Plenty, Poverty Bay, Hawkes Bay, Lower North Island, South Island.

Scholarship Application Deadline:15 Oct 2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application

Bickerton-Widdowson Trust Memorial Scholarship, New Zealand: Fine Arts

The Bickerton-Widdowson Trust Memorial Scholarships, administered by the Trustees, were established by a bequest in 1957 under the will of the late Clara Bickerton for the purpose of assisting students in the continuance of studies at the University of Canterbury. Income from the Trust is made available annually to Christchurch Boys High School, Christchurch Girls High School, Hagley Community College and the School of Fine Arts at the University of Canterbury.
Eligibility:Scholarships tenable at the School of Fine Arts of the University of Canterbury are open to any student of the School of Fine Arts.

Scholarship Application Deadline: 01 Nov 2011

Further Scholarship Information and Application